Short track speed track Hwang Dae-heon collides with Park Ji-won again in the 500m in the first round of national team selection – Dong-A Ilbo VRESP

Park Ji-won fails to advance to the 500m finals… Dae-Heon Hwang won the men’s 500m with Jeong-Soo Lee taking 5th place in the finals… Shim Seok-hee takes first place in the women’s 500m.

Hwang Dae-heon (Gangwon Provincial Office), who caused a ‘team kill controversy’ at the 2024 International Skating Union (ISU) Short Track World Championships, clashed with Park Ji-won (Seoul City Hall) again during the national team selection match.

Daeheon Hwang raced with Jiwon Park in the second group of the men’s 500m semifinals at the 2024-2025 season short track national team first selection competition held at the Mokdong Indoor Ice Rink in Seoul on the 6th.

Immediately after the start, Park Jang-hyuk (Sports Toto) took the lead, and Park Ji-won took second place. Hwang Dae-heon succeeded Park Ji-won.

The collision between Hwang Dae-heon and Park Ji-won occurred while going around the last curve in the first lap. There was a collision between Hwang Dae-heon and Park Ji-won, who were overtaking on the in-course.

Park Ji-won lost his balance momentarily, fell, and hit the fence.

After a fierce battle for the lead, Hwang Dae-heon crossed the finish line second after Park Jang-hyuk. Park Ji-won got back up and continued the race, but ended up in last place in Group 2.

Hwang Dae-heon, who was not assessed any significant penalties, succeeded in advancing to the finals as second place in his group. Park Ji-won was frustrated in reaching the finals.

At the World Championships held in Rotterdam, Netherlands last month, Hwang Dae-heon was at the center of controversy after fouling Park Ji-won twice.

Dae-heon Hwang crashed while trying to overtake Park Ji-won, who was leading, in the men’s 1500m final on the in-course. Park Ji-won, who lost speed after colliding with Hwang Dae-heon, was the last of the seven to reach the finish line, and Hwang Dae-heon was disqualified.

A similar scene occurred in the 1000m final. Park Ji-won, who was running in second place, overtook Hwang Dae-heon in the in-course with three laps remaining. Then Hwang Dae-heon grabbed Park Ji-won’s thigh.

Daeheon Hwang received another penalty and was disqualified, and Jiwon Park did not finish the race.

When the controversy arose, the Korea Skating Federation conducted its own investigation and concluded that Hwang Dae-heon was not intentional.

The two did not race in the same group in the 1500m the previous day. On this day, both Hwang Dae-heon and Park Ji-won advanced to the semifinals and competed in the same group, but there was another clash.

Following the 2022-2023 season, Park Ji-won, who won the men’s overall championship in the 2023-2024 season ISU Short Track World Cup Series, failed to win a gold medal at the World Championships and was selected to participate in the national team selection, took second place in the 1500m, but did not even reach the final that day. Failed to add points.

The 2025 Harbin Winter Asian Games will be held in the 2024-2025 season, so this selection game is very important for Park Ji-won, who has not yet resolved his military service issue.

Park Ji-won must aim to make up for it in the 1000m on the 7th.

Daeheon Hwang ranked last among the five athletes in the 500m final with a time of 41.349 seconds.

In the men’s 500m, veteran Lee Jeong-su (Seoul City Hall), born in 1989, won with a time of 41.181 seconds. Kim Geon-woo (Sports Toto) took second place with 41.218 seconds, and Kim Tae-seong (Seoul City Hall) took third place with 41.225 seconds.

Kim Geon-woo, who won the 1500m the day before, led the first qualifying round until the 500m. Jeongsu Lee is in second place.

In the women’s 500m final, Shim Seok-hee (Seoul City Hall) won with a time of 43.749 seconds.

Shim Seok-hee, who won the 1500m and 500m the previous day, took the lead in the first qualifying round.

Short track queen Choi Min-jeong (Seongnam City Hall), who temporarily put down the Taegeuk mark for the 2023-2024 season to hone new skills, placed third in the 500m final with a time of 43.912 seconds.

Soyeon Lee (Sports Toto) took second place with 43.892 seconds.

The 2024-2025 season national team selection competition will be held on the 5th and 7th with the first round and the 2nd round on the 11th and 12th.

In the first selection, 500m, 1,000m, and 1,500m races will be held, and the top 24 men and women will advance to the second selection by adding up the points according to ranking.

By adding up the points from the first and second selection rounds, eight men and seven women will be selected as national team members for the next season.

In the women’s division, Kim Gil-li (Seongnam City Hall), who won the overall championship in the 2023-2024 season ISU World Cup Series and won the 1500m gold medal at the World Championships, was automatically selected.

In this selection, the top three in the men’s division and the top two in the women’s division will be given priority entry to the individual competition at the international competition.

(Seoul = Newsis)

Source link

About Cyra caroline

I am a news writer, editor and journalist with more than 13 years of experience. I have an MA in Journalism and have published work in various publications around the world. With me, you don't have to worry about copyright and defamation issues or being punished by search engines. You get original work that complies with media laws. Communication: I really prioritize good communication with clients, from their expectations to the initial plan and vision of the project in particular. Tell me what you want - even down to the level of 'how' you want it written. Nonetheless, I must note that self-expression is very important to me and I hope to reach a solution together with the client but not at the expense of the quality of the finished product.

Check Also

(Issue Plus) Football Association adopts temporary manager system for the second consecutive time…Son Heung-min "It’s bound to take time" – YTN VRESP

■ Host: Anchor Lee Yeo-jin, Anchor Jang Won-seok ■ Appearance: Choi Dong-ho, sports critic * …

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *